Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /mnt/stor5-wc1-dfw1/644438/www.pituitarysociety.org/web/content/includes/menu.inc).

Board of Directors

Font Size:

July, 2018 – June, 2019

Board of Directors:

John Carmichael, MD (2017-2021)

  • Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
  • Department of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology
  • Co-Director, USC Pituitary Center
  • Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • [email protected]

International Relations*
Felipe F. Casanueva, MD, PhD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Santiago de Compostela University
  • Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • [email protected]

President-elect (2019-2020)
Maria Fleseriu, M.D, FACE

  • Professor Medicine/Endocrinology and Neurological Surgery
  • Director Pituitary Center
  • Oregon Health & Science University
  • Portland, OR
  • [email protected]

Program Co-Director*
Andrea Giustina, MD

  • Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism
  • San Raffaele University Hospital Milan
  • Milan, Italy
  • [email protected]

Adriana Ioachimescu , MD, PhD, FACE (2015-2019)

  • Professor of Medicine and Neurosurgery
  • Co-Director, The Emory Pituitary Center
  • Emory University School of Medicine
  • Atlanta, GA
  • [email protected]

Niki Karavitaki, MSc, PhD, FRCP (2017-2021)

  • Senior Clinical Lecturer and Consultant Endocrinologist
  • Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research
  • University of Birmingham, UK and Queen Elizabeth Hospital
  • Birmingham, UK
  • [email protected]

Fahrettin Kelestimur, MD (2015-2019)

  • Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism
  • Erciyes University Medical School
  • Kayseri, Turkey
  • [email protected]

Program Co-Director*
Anne Klibanski, MD

  • Chief of Neuroendocrine Unit
  • Professor of Medicine
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Boston, MA
  • [email protected]

Ann McCormack, MBBS (Hons 1), FRACP, PhD (2017-2021)

  • Staff Specialist Endocrinology
  • St. Vincent’s Hospital
  • Head, Hormones and Cancer Group
  • Garvan Institute of Medical Research
  • Sydney, NSW, Australia
  • [email protected]

Editor, Pituitary

Shlomo Melmed, MB, ChB, MACP, FRCP

  • Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs
  • Dean of the Medical Faculty
  • Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • [email protected]


Christian Strasburger, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Charité Universitätsmedizin, Campus Mitte
  • Berlin, Germany
  • [email protected]

Aart van der Lely, MD, PhD (2017-2021)

  • Professor of Clinical Endocrinology
  • Erasmus University
  • Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • [email protected]

* Director-Officers